Yes folks you heard me right, Zugzwang is no more.

I think that I could possibly be slightly more torn up about losing my country, but there's really no sadness here. Now I'm not necessarily jumping up and down with glee, I just don't think that Civic Mirror and I were the right match.

Don't get me wrong, I think that there were a lot of good qualities to Civic Mirror and I definitely enjoyed learning about politics in such a way that we were the politicians. But there were other aspects of the simulation I just did not care for. 

Personally, I think that many people got really caught up in it and forgot that it was, you know, a game. I think that many people also took things other classmates did in the game quite personally, when actually those classmates were only trying to win the game. 

That's another thing I never quite understood about civic mirror: HOW DO YOU WIN???
Every single person had negative status points, most had negative or no well being points and I just don't understand how we were supposed to win...
Did anyone win? Did I win? I guess we'll never know.


Circling back to when I was talking about the good things of Civic Mirror, I really enjoyed the politics of it. I thought it was so fascinating to see friends turn into enemies in the House Of Commons and to see classmates stab each other in the back. 
When I was in the HoC, it was my favourite part of the entire game. Having my voice heard as well as having influential input was fabulous. Not to mention the fact that I actually got elected into the house, which means that enough people actually liked what I had to say and had to offer to put me in there! 

As a final goodbye to our (not so) beloved Zugzwang, I will sing the national anthem... That I just made up... right now.
Zugzwang, Zugzwang
you're kind of weird and lame
Zugzwang, Zugzwang
this is really just a game.



Leave a Reply.