We just finished off the first year in our simulated country Zugzwang. This year was a learning experience for all, but it was also really enjoyable.
     Starting off with elections, I somehow got pulled into the mix and found myself running for Prime Minister. Lucky for the citizens of Zugzwang I was not elected. I was however elected into the house of commons!  
     I really enjoyed being in the house of commons for this first year, being able to give my opinion the time that it mattered most.
     Next came the hex auction! This was probably the best part of the year. People were ruthless and crazy competitive, taking prices way higher than they should have been. I'll admit even I went a little crazy, bidding up the Prime Minister in the auction for the power plant. It was so worth it. Even though he kept his face calm, cool and collected but I could see him sweating on the inside.
     We had a town hall meeting just recently. This wasn't so much of a meeting but more of a throw-every-single-one-of-my-friends-under-the-bus rampage. There were accusations and angry comments flying. People used words as weapons in this meeting that's for sure. Almost everyone had something to complain about and it was interesting the our new Prime Minister Bobby wasn't there. 
Most of the angry comments were directed at members of the house of commons, our former Prime Minister Jake and Elijah (he basically screwed over everyone. I was not surprised.). At the end of this meeting, 2 cases were suggested to take place in court the next day.
      In the court room the honorable Kimberly Collins was our judge. I think she was the best choice for the job because she was  tough enough to actually tell people to be quiet. The court was very interesting, but much less orderly and formal than an actual court room. It was amusing to watch students become lawyers, clients and jurors. The way that some people worked the laws, found loop holes and were just full out good at being in court- albeit a fake court but that's beside the point. Our little court room was quite informative, and it also made me see flaws in the laws I voted for in the house of commons. 
That's that, the whole year done. This year was definitely a year for learning. Learning where to put your money. Where to put your trust and where to put your morals. Even though 34 people died and no one was pleased at our town meeting, I don't think the year was horrible; considering it was a year of firsts. 



Leave a Reply.