The future is terrifying. This is known fact. 
     The future is even scarier when people are throwing statistics at you about how poorly the job market is doing. Or how young people's unemployment or underemployment rates are sky rocketing.
     I am scared.
     I am scared of failure in university. I am scared of not finding a job in my field. I am scared of debt. I am scared. 
     But the thing about the future, is that it's not too far off. The future is tomorrow, next week, next month and next year. So to prepare myself for all of these nexts, I of course turn to the internet. 
     Whist on the internet I find many things that help to dilute my fear of the future.  I found that there are universities that offer programs that will help me get to the exact place I want to be. And within these programs there are plenty of internships to apply for.
 I am scared of the future but i'm also excited.
     I am excited to be on my own. I am excited to make little decisions in my life. To decide what colour I want to pant the walls. To decide where I hang that painting. To decide the furniture that goes in my home. I am excited.
     But other than these seemingly insignificant things, I am excited to work.
     I am excited to find a job( maybe) that I love. I don't need to love it every day but I want to love it in the long run. I am excited that I can show people that I can work hard. That I can make something of myself. 
     The future is scary because it is unknown. But preparing yourself will lift some of the fear and allow you to see how bright your future can be.



Leave a Reply.