Even just reading this title makes me cringe, year round schooling?

I know that as adolescents, as soon as Christmas passes we're already counting the days till summer vacation.
But if we ignore the fact that July and August are filled with days of doing nothing and relaxing after hard months of schooling, there may actually be some benefits of having school all through the year.

The thing about year round schooling is that we wouldn't not have any vacations. We would be able to spread out the 5 weeks we get in summer, all through the year. Think about it like this:we could get those 5 weeks and spread them evenly through the rest of the year.

Aside from the matter of getting all of our well deserved holidays, school year round would help us students in the future. Think about it like this, from the 25 of June to the 8 of September students forget 2 months of knowledge! And let's be honest, when I get back into the classroom in September, I sometimes forget how to hold my pencil. So basically, sitting in school for 2 months was wasted! Two entire months you sat in class working hard(or not so hard) were completely lost. 

So would it not be better to be in school for the same amount of time, but with the holidays spread throughout the year?
Personally I don't know what I would choose. I love summer vacation, sitting in the sun and at the beach and having not a care in the world for 2 months are amazing. But being able to retain all the knowledge I gained though out the school year would be wonderful because Waking up at seven am every day is not something I will continue to do if it is just going to be wasted. 

This is just something to ponder while you're cramming for exams and lusting after long, hot summer days!



Leave a Reply.