Today in class we had a poetry slam. 
I think that everyone did really well and that even if their poem or presentation weren't excellent, going up there and doing it is really what's important.
At the end of the poetry slam we were asked to pick 3 favourite poems. My 3 favourites were by Ethan, Nathan and Tyler&Nasir. 

     In Ethan's poem he talked about how creativity is an endangered species and that our thoughts are the one thing that are truly our own. I really liked his poem and he presented it quite well. One thing that I think he could do better if he presented again is to emphasize certain words or phrases to make his point more clear. As well as speaking more loudly and clearly to be understood and heard all over the classroom.

     Nathan's poem was amazing. Although he did stutter and lose his place a few times his delivery was amazing. He used an amazing tone of voice, punctuated and enunciated his words perfectly. In his poem he spoke about self confidence and also told the story of a girl who had a lack of self esteem. He told the story really well and you could hear genuine emotion in his voice. I think that if he presented again he should have his poem memorized, then his poem would be a 10/10.

     Tyler and Nasir collaborated on a poem. I originally thought that their poem was going to be poorly done and they would be under-prepared. But I was pleasantly surprised when their poem began. They told a story about 2 kids in foster care and through their lives things got progressively worse until they decided to rob a bank. After they robbed the bank both ended up being shot by the police and dying. 
     I think the poem was rally good and the story was amazingly written. If they went again I hope they would speak louder and more clearly because I had difficulty hearing and found that they were mumbling most of the time. Other than that their poem was amazing and they obviously put a lot of effort into the poem. 
     
     My poem was alright. It was about how I lost my faith and how I don't believe in god as well as why. I think that my presentation was mediocre. I stumbled over my words and lost my place on the page. I also didn't look up from the page once, even though I had my poem memorized. I was nervous and it felt better to hold the piece of paper in my hand. I think that the way I spoke and delivered my words was better than the other elements of my presentation. Overall I think that I did a good job.

The slam was a huge success and everyone who went was spectacular. I think that everyone showed so much courage by even standing up in front of the class and reading their poem because poetry is a very personal thing most times. Also the cookies and juice were a 10/10 and I think I would really like to have another poetry slam in the future.
Nasir
5/10/2013 04:20:03 am

Thanks for the compliment. I think all the poems were great including yours.

Reply
Tyler
5/10/2013 04:21:02 am

Your poem was really good, I wish me and Nasir had have done actions and everything, but to no avail. Nasir, pronounce jugular right next time haha. But your poem was powerful

Reply
Nasir
5/13/2013 03:15:01 am

My bad. I miss pronounced jugular. So what? I also miss pronounced posthumous so ha.

Reply



Leave a Reply.